The Boling Bulldogs made a return to the playoffs this past season after a two-year absence. The added boost in play saw District 12 coaches award one Bulldog as the district’s best offensive lineman and six other Boling players with eight first-team all-district selections.

“This was just a testament to the team-first mentality that this year’s team had,” Bulldog head coach Kevin Urbanek said. “This year’s team was selfless. These kids just wanted to do everything to help the team win (and) their mindset was, it’s not about me, it’s about us.”

Of the six schools in District 12, Bulldog junior Tom Huddleston stood out, in his second year as a starter, he was named the district’s offensive line MVP. 

“Jesse gave us consistency in his play the entire year. Jesse has become a hard worker and a very coach able kid,” Urbanek said. “When a lineman that is 6’4’ and 280 pounds has those two qualities with good feet, they have a chance to be very successful. It is a great feeling knowing he still has another year. It will be fun to watch him progress, even more, he hasn’t even reached his full potential.”

Gage Eastep was one of two Boling players to receive a first-team all-district award last season. As a senior this year, Eastep is one of two Bulldog’s to earn first-team honors on offense and defense for his contributions as a running back and defensive back. Eastep led the Bulldogs in rushing yards, and he also had the third-most tackles on the team.

Sophomore Trenton Jones earned first-team honors as a defensive end and a tight end. Jones threw for a touchdown, ran for a touchdown and caught four passes for 40 yards. He also had 11 tackles on defense.

Senior Jastin Arbing was named Boling’s utility player and he received first-team honors as a wide receiver. Arbing not only led the Bulldogs in receiving but he ran the ball, played on defense, was the kick returner and he also punted.

Boling sophomore offensive lineman Seth Bear picked up first-team honors. Bear blocked for an offense that finished with 2,506 yards in eight regular-season games.

Sophomore linebacker Christian Montalvo led the Bulldogs with 37 tackles earning first-team honors. Senior linebacker Colby Chilek had 27 tackles and one interception locking up the Bulldogs’ final first-team spot.

Freshman running back Ryan O’neal, senior wide receiver Blake Savage, senior offensive lineman Tom Elliott, freshman offensive lineman Juan Cortez, senior defensive tackle Francisco Garcia, senior linebacker Blaise Hubenak, senior linebacker Blake Savage, senior defensive back Ruben Becerra earned second-team honors.

Senior defensive back Blayze Becerra, senior defensive end Cody Schindler and junior offensive tackle David Brake received honorable mentions.

Brandon Zapalac, Raybert Williamson, Jaxson Urbanek, Nathan Rowland, Adrian Pelletier, Nick Gutierrez, Francisco Garcia, Shavoy Bentancur, Blayze Becerra, Ruben Becerra, Rudy Becerra, Jesse Arrington, Arbing, Bear, Chilek, Cortez, Eastep, Elliott, Huddleston, Jones, Montalvo, Savage, Schindler and Brake made the all-district all-academic team.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.